Catalogue of works

Fantaisie pour piano et orchestre     72/(73)

I. Andante ma non troppo
II. Lento e molto espressivo
[III]. Allegro molto

Composition dates:
October 1889 - April 1890

René Chansarel

Fromont, 1920; Durand, 2007, Édition critique des oeuvres complètes, V/2bis

Nomenclature: — — timp. cymb. - 2 harps (2nd ad lib.) — strings

First hearing:
London, 20 November 1919, Royal Philarmonic Society, soloist Alfred Cortot; Paris, 7 December 1919, Concerts Lamoureux, under the direction of André Messager, soloist Marguerite Long

Begun in October 1889, the work should have been Debussy's fourth Envoi de Rome, but the composer did not send it to the Institut.